Spirit of the Hudson Gala

April 3, 2022

3:00- 7:00 pm

In recent months we have witnessed incredible environmental progress in the Hudson Valley. Join us in celebrating the dedication and persistence that made these victories possible at this year’s in-person Spirit of the Hudson Gala on Sunday, April 3rd at 3:00 pm.

Tom Lake, recipient of the 2022 Spirit of the Hudson Award, will be recognized for his achievements and environmental advocacy. Jim Kricker will also be honored with the 2022 Clearwater Lifetime Contribution Award.

We are honored and most appreciative to announce that the Bernstein-Bard Trio will be providing entertainment for the evening. Attendees can look forward to enjoying content specially produced for the gala, and hearing exciting updates from members of the Clearwater staff and board. Nicholas D. Lowry will be hosting our auction of rare Clearwater relics, and other special gifts. Expect all of this and much more, at this year’s Spirit of the Hudson Gala!

Tickets: 2022 Spirit of the Hudson Gala ticket information is coming soon! Be on the look out for updates in our monthly e-newsletter. Not subscribed? Sign up here!

COVID-19 Precautions: Clearwater is committed to maintaining a safe and healthy environment for this in-person event. We will be following CDC and NYS DOH guidelines in place when we gather on April 3rd. That may include proof of vaccination and/or face masks.  

Get to Know the Faces of the 2022 Spirit of the Hudson Gala

The Bernstein Bard Trio has become an acoustic music phenomenon in the Hudson Valley of New York over the last 15 years. Known for their imaginative arrangements, diverse repertoire, and infectious grooves, they perform up and down the East Coast for dances, concerts, weddings, and private events. The Trio features brothers Mark Bernstein on guitar and vocals, Steve Bernstein on mandolin and vocals, and Robert Bard on upright bass and vocals. They frequently expand to a quartet when performing with percussionist Brian Melick.

Nicholas D. Lowry is President and Principal Auctioneer of Swann Auction Galleries, and Director of Swann’s Vintage Posters Department. As one of the world’s foremost authorities on vintage posters, he has spent nearly 20 years serving regularly as poster appraiser on the PBS television show Antiques Roadshow. He sits on the Board of the Smithsonian Archives of American Art, is Chair of the Fine Arts Committee of the National Arts Club, and presides over as many as 20 charity auctions a year.

Past Honorees:

2021: Karl CoplanSpirit of the Hudson Award. The Beacon Sloop ClubClearwater Lifetime Contribution Award

2020: Tom ChapinSpirit of the Hudson Award

2019: Adam GreenSpirit of the Hudson Award. John MylodClearwater Lifetime Contribution Award

2017: Judith Enck and all past and present board membersSpirit of the Hudson Award

2016: Captain Jean Wort and all Clearwater Captains from 1969 to presentSpirit of the Hudson Award

2015: Anne Todd Osborn and Fred Osborn IIISpirit of the Hudson Award

About the Event:

Founded in 2015, Clearwater’s Spirit of the Hudson Gala is held annually to recognize and honor extraordinary contributions to the protection and celebration of the Hudson River and its watershed by individuals who exemplify the values and spirit of our founders.